Quin & Axtens, 422-438 Brixton Road, London SW9
The changing face of Brixton, 1897 - 2008
(Updated © urban75, 13th Feb 2008)
A look at Quin & Axtens, once a major shopping landmark in Brixton.
Street view, looking north, c.1910.
Several trams can be seen in Brixton Road. See: Brixton trams feature
Looking south towards the centre of Brixton, c.1910.
The elaborate facade of Quin & Axtens is on the right, with rival Bon Marche across the road.
Published in a programme for the Brixton Theatre, this advertisement for for the large Quin & Axtens department store boasts of holding 'the largest stock of corsets in the south of London.'
Featured items in the January and February sale include the 'celebrated CB corset' and the 'well known Newmarket' corset at 2/6 per pair (12.5p), available in black, white or drab (light brownish green colour).
Looking north towards Stockwell Road. The signs advertise their summer sale.
The large banner advertises an 'Exhibition of Choice Millinery. Latest creations 10/6, Style & Value.'
The building at 412 Brixton Road also served as a Post Office, with the location described as 'Quin & Axtens Corner' - a name that hasn't survived. (see: London corners)
A poster advertising the 1898 winter clearance, with fashionable millinery and French spring flowers for sale on February 3rd.
Bargain hunters could visit on Monday, 21st February for a sale of 'oddments and remnants' at 'Exactly Half price.'
A feast of electric Christmas lights covering Bon Marche, and the 'Great Toy Fair' at Quin and Axtens, 1927. [© pic]
This fascinating photo shows mustard-keen shoppers queuing up for the first day of the sales in Quin & Axtens, Brixton, October 1934.
From 'London Marches On' by Harrold P. Clunn (1947):
"To-day Brixton Road has become the Oxford Street of South London and its fine shops include the two large drapery stores of Messrs. Quin and Axten Ltd. and the Bon Marche, both of which are now owned by the John Lewis Partnership, Ltd.
Unfortunately, the Quin and Axten store was completely destroyed in the earlier air raids of 1940 and only its ruined walls now remain. Its business is transferred for the time being to the neighbouring Bon Marche store."
The old Quin and Axtens' store was rebuilt in 1950 and now serves as mixed office/shop space.
Although the store may be a distance memory, the name lives on in legal history, with Quin &Axtens Ltd v Salmon case of 1909 establishing that, "certain transactions needed the consent of both managing directors; shareholders in a general meeting tried to ratify a transaction consented to by one only of those directors."
See: Quin and Axtens' Then & Now feature for more info about the fate of this once famous Brixton department store.
More: Zebra-drawn carriage outside Quin and Axtens!
« History homepage