Then and Now: Prince Albert public house
Photographic comparisons of old and modern views of Lambeth
c. 1939 The Prince Albert public house in Coldharbour Lane before being refurbished.
The large wooden sign above the pub advertises, 'Whitbread's Ale & Stout'
Prior to refurnishment, a publication spoke of the 'personal atmosphere and charm of the old house which was to be preserved and developed in the new premises'.
c. 1940 The Prince Albert public house in Coldharbour Lane after refurbishment.
A contemporary journal describes the facade as having 'brown-tiled lower front surmounted by handmade tapestry brickwork relieved with simple stone dressings, and the roof finished with rough-quarried Westmoreland slates'.
The interior has a Saloon Bar, Public Bar and Luncheon Room, with the journal noting the use of mirrors to create space and 'a warm atmosphere to the bars by the treatment in plastic of the walls and ceilings'.
(pic: Lambeth Archives)
Dec 2003 After the twenty-year long reign of Pat Burke, the much missed landlady of the Prince Albert, the pub remains a focal point of Brixton's community.
Famously friendly and welcoming, it's one of the few traditional Brixton pubs that has resisted the urge to transform into a trendy style bar - although a few eyebrows were raised when the bright orange colour scheme was introduced in 2002.
See our Brixton pub guide.
« back to history homepage next page »