Then and Now: 411 Brixton Road, central Brixton
Photographic comparisons of old and modern views of Lambeth
c. 1910 A photograph of the premises of George Airey, family butcher, "for the choicest English meat only". Situated on 411 Brixton Road (near the junction with Brixton Station Road), the shop boasts an ornate canopy and three large gas lamps.
(pic: Lambeth Archives)
Jan 2004 The attractive overhead cast iron canopy has long since vanished along with the butchers.
The building has enjoyed a fast turnover of different businesses in recent years, so much so that the 'Call Shop' sign is already out of date in this picture (the premises now sell lights and novelties)
Outside, a flimsy plastic tent construction provides some protection for a stall selling handbags.
« back to history homepage next page »